A Feature on Harmony Gardens

Some of you may know this about my background, but others will likely not. Before I ventured into the art of photography, I developed an eye for aesthetics in the field of landscaping. I worked under my dad, David Holliday(owner of Harmony Gardens), a seasoned professional(over 40 years in the business)  since I was 15 and still in highschool. We worked on some pretty incredible multi-million dollar properties all over the lower mainland including the Rio Vista on SW Marine Drive, and my dad had quite the list of distinguished clientele. Most, if not all of these gardens were built from scratch into award winning TV and magazine covered masterpieces, many of the which were also featured in Private Vancouver Garden Tours. Working side by side with my dad gave me a very hands on knowledge of creative landscaping. From simple stuff like planting summer flowers, to creating planter arrangements, building complex stairwells, pathways, retaining walls, waterfalls, and fountains from basalt to bluestone, and creating an entire fisheries-compliant garden along a British Properties creekside, the work was always different, difficult, and creatively challenging, but very rewarding in the end when each garden came together. It was a very good experience for me, it developed me artistically, and taught me the value of working hard. Much like photography, there’s certain guidelines to follow, but every scenario is different. There isn’t one formula that works for every garden, and it requires someone who can look at a landscape and see how certain shapes, lines, and colours will captivate you and take you from one area to the next. This is similar to the illusive golden spiral in a photograph which pulls your eye continuously through the picture through the use of composition, POV(Point of View), DOF(Depth of Field), and so on. I can see now how creative landscaping has helped train my photographic eye.

The photos below are of my dad’s personal Monet inspired, cottage style home garden of which he created just this last summer.

One thought on “A Feature on Harmony Gardens

  1. Pingback: Harmony Gardens Feature Part II «

Comments are closed.